Millom take honours in derby day battle


Haverigg played local rivals Millom for the second time in three days, this time in the Cumbria Cricket League Premier Division, where Haverigg were the hosts.

Millom captain Robbie Wilson won the toss and elected to bat and they started brightly, with openers Mike Wilson and Dom Conner going well. These two put on 43 before Mike Wilson (21) was dismissed. The introduction of Haverigg professional Sachin Jayawardena soon brought the dismissal of Dan Fallows (2) and Haverigg skipper Drew Postlethwaite decided to go with spin at both ends, bringing on Jordan Postlethwaite. He soon dismissed Dom Conner (20), danger man Graham Dawson (0), professional Primosh Perera (11) and Braith Conner (0), to leave Millom reeling on 80-6. This brought together two ex Haverigg players in Mike Holmes and Anthony Foster. These two put on 80 for the seventh wicket, before Holmes (34) was dismissed by Craig Armstrong. Next ball, Foster (36) fell and Millom were soon all out for 168. Jordan Postlethwaite (4-20) was the pick of the Haverigg bowlers, with support from Armstrong (2-6) and Robbie Evans (2-37).

Haverigg’s reply didn’t start well and were soon three wickets down, with Drew Postlethwaite (5), Glenn Chesher (0) and Dale Graham (2) back in the hut, all dismissed by Robbie Wilson. Jordan Postlethwaite joined Jayawardena at the crease and began to rebuild the innings, taking the score into the seventies, before Jayawardena (35) fell to the impressive left arm spin of teenager Dec Tyson. The Poolsiders managed to scrape past a hundred, finally being dismissed for 103, with Jordan Postlethwaite (35) joint top scoring and was second to last man out. Dawson (3-10) cleaned up the tail, after Robbie Wilson’s (3-34) early wickets. There were two wickets apiece for Perera (2-13) and Dec Tyson (2-28). Paul O’Callaghan (0-18) was unlucky to go wicketless, but was sometimes unplayable during his opening spell, putting a stranglehold on Haverigg’s innings.


Haverigg A made the trip north once again to play Cleator A, looking to avenge their recent defeat and come back with 10 points.
Cleator A won the toss and inserted Haverigg A, who started well, with the inform Kie Rogan and Anthony Johnson opening up. Haverigg A amassed a final total of 202-8 off their 40 overs with Rogan (54) top scoring. He was supported by Andrew Knowles (42) and Johnson (35). On loan veteran Ian Lucas (2-28) picked up the prize scalps of Rogan and Johnson and he was supported by Thomas Whitfield-Bott (2-29) and Ben Wishart (2-46).
Cleator A raced out of the blocks and ended up chasing the total down with ease. Steven Lee (119no) made a fantastic unbeaten century, although an easy chance was spilled when he was in the thirties. Experienced fellow opener Steve Wishart (71no) helped knock off Haverigg A’s total for the loss of no wickets.

Written By
Ian Allington

Ian Allington

Cricket Correspondent

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Latest Articles

Scroll to Top